HomeGameEverything You Need To Know About Final Fantasy VII, Before Rebirth

Everything You Need To Know About Final Fantasy VII, Before Rebirth

With the upcoming release of Final Fantasy VII Rebirth on February 29, 2024, players might be curious about where to start in the extensive Final Fantasy VII (FF7) universe. Here’s a breakdown of the games, films, and additional content that make up the FF7 universe:

1. Original Final Fantasy VII (1997):

  • Released on the original PlayStation in 1997.
  • Follows the story of Cloud Strife and his allies in their fight against the Shinra Electric Power Company.
  • Available on modern consoles with a touched-up remaster on PS5, PS4, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, Switch, and Windows.

2. Spinoffs and Sequels:

  • Before Crisis: Final Fantasy VII (Mobile): Difficult to obtain; story content appears in Final Fantasy VII: Ever Crisis.
  • Dirge of Cerberus (PS2): A third-person shooter starring Vincent Valentine, set after FF7.
  • Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII (PSP): A prequel set between Before Crisis and FF7.
    • Remastered as Crisis Core – Final Fantasy VII – Reunion on PS5, PS4, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, Switch, and Windows.

3. Modern FF7 Trilogy:

  • Final Fantasy VII Remake (2020):
    • A reimagining of FF7’s opening “Midgar” sections with new story elements.
    • Followed by DLC chapter Episode Intermission in 2021, starring Yuffie Kisaragi.
  • Final Fantasy VII Rebirth (Upcoming):
    • Part of a trilogy, set to feature larger environments and expand on the original game’s events.

4. Films:

  • Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children (CG Sequel):
    • Released in 2005, a sequel to the main game’s story.
    • Features impressive visuals and fight scenes, but with a convoluted plot.
  • Last Order (Anime):
    • A 25-minute anime retelling events leading up to FF7, received positively.

5. Additional Content:

  • Short Stories and Novel:
    • On the Way to a Smile: Short stories post-FF7, before Advent Children.
    • The Kids Are Alright: A Turks Side Story, leading up to Advent Children.
    • Remake: Traces of Two Pasts: A novel focused on Aerith and Tifa’s backstories.

6. Reading Order Suggestions:

  • Start with the original FF7 for a retro experience.
  • Alternatively, begin with Final Fantasy VII Remake, followed by Episode: Intermission.
  • Hold off on Crisis Core until playing Rebirth or the original FF7.
  • Last Order provides a retelling of events leading to FF7.

The FF7 universe offers a diverse and expansive narrative, allowing players to explore the story through different mediums. Whether starting with the classic original or diving into the modern remakes, the journey promises an unforgettable experience.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular